Library Board Members

Library board members are appointed by the County and City Councils at regularly scheduled meetings as needed to keep the board at full membership. Board members should be interested in libraries and communities, are expected to attend quarterly meetings, and may be asked to serve as officers or on extra committees such as Finance and Property. Board members review and approve the local budget, help make decisions concerning building maintenance and landscaping and may be called upon to hear complaints from patrons, personnel issues and other matters as they come up. Board members can serve a total of 12 years, that being four three year terms.  Four of the members of the Tifton Board also serve on the Coastal Plain Regional Library board, influencing policy across the library system. Two members of this board also serve on the Foundation board, ensuring there is communications across all aspects of library governance. Without help from people like our board members and other volunteers, we could not function. Thank these wonderful people often and considering serving on a board.

The current board members are

Bill Kelley (also Chair of the Coastal Plain Regional Library board)

Val Vanags (Chair of the Tifton-Tift County Library Board)

Filiberto Hernandez (Vice-chair of the library board)

Dotty Royal

Betty Jean Prince (secretary of the library board)

Jason Hoffman

Cecil Cordle

Kristy Daniels

John Tyson

Juan Carlos Diaz

Johnny Terrell (City Council member)


last edit 2/22/2018